Nigerian Political News Media
Lagos APC faction blasts Oyegun after rival chairman sworn-in
Spread the news

[6/5, 4:29 PM] nasirdambatta: The Fouad Oki-led group of the All Progressives Congress (APC)in Lagos on Tuesday faulted the inauguration of Alhaji Tunde Balogun as the state party chairman by the National Chairman of the party, Chief John  Odigie -Oyegun.

The inauguration was done on Monday, along with 33 other state chairmen.

Oki, who convened a parallel state congress of the party on May 19, challenging the group led by Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, faulted the action  in a statement he issued in Lagos.

Oki accused Oyegun as being compromised and said his group would do everything possible to challenge “the illegality”.

“I am certain we have not not heard the last of this. Truth is we knew they were going to do what they did because the Oyegun-led NWC is full of weaklings.

“But we are undaunted in our resolve and we will continue to show resilience on the struggle to free our people from the shackles of a bigot”, he said.

The inauguration of Balogun was in contrast to an earlier decision of the National Working Committee (NWC)of the party which overruled the main congress over issues of legality.

The Publicity Secretary of the party ,Malam Bolaji Abdullahi had explained that the NWC overruled the main congress held at the ACME Road Secretariat because it was based on 57 councils instead of the constitutional 20.

He added that the party could not have discountenanced the congress organised by Oki as it was held in the recognised  20 council areas.

The spokesman, however,  said a five-man committee, headed by the Deputy National Chairman(North) had been set up to resolve the knotty issues.

However, Oyegun at the inauguration told the new chairmen in crisis states like Lagos ,Rivers and others not to inaugurate executive members as the party was working on harmonised committee members in the affected states.

Oki called on President Muhammadu Buhari and Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo to prevail on Oyegun-led NWC to reverse the inauguration.

He also called on NWC members to do everything possible to ensure that its earlier decision on congresses was upheld.

The Fouad Oki group is believed to be sponsored by Muiz Banire, the national legal adviser of the APC.

All the state chairmen sworn in by Oyegun:

1.      Abia                            – Hon. Donatus E. Nwankpa

2.      Adamawa                    – Alh. Ibrahim Bilal

3.      Akwa Ibom                 – Hon. Ini Okopido

4.      Anambra                     – Barr. Emeka Ibe

5.      Bauchi                         – Alh Uba Ahmed Nana

6.      Bayelsa                        – Jonathan L. Amos

7.      Benue                          – Comrade Abba Yari

8.      Borno                          – Hon. Ali Bukar Dalori

9.      Cross River                 – Hon. Godwin Etim John

10.  Delta                           – Chief Cyril Abeye Ogodo

11.  Ebonyi                         – Pastor Eze Nwachukwu Eze

12.  Edo                             – Anslem U. Ojezua

13.  Ekiti                            – No Congress

14.  Enugu                          – Dr. Ben Nwoye

15.  Gombe                        – Nitte K. Amangal

16.  Imo                              – Dr. Hillary Eke

17.  Jigawa                         – Hon. Ado Sani Kiri

18.  Kaduna                       – Air Commodore Emmanuel Jekeda (Rtd.)

19.  Kano                           – Abdullahi Abass

20.  Katsina                        – Shittu S. Shittu

21.  Kebbi                          – Arc. Bala Sani Kangiwa

22.  Kogi                            – Abdullahi Bello

23.  Kwara                         – Hon. Ishola Balogun Fulani

24.  Lagos                          – Alh. Tunde Balogun

25.  Nasarawa                    – Philip Tatari Shekwo

26.  Niger                           – Engr. Muhammed Liman

27.  Ogun                           – Chief Dikia Adebisi

28.  Ondo                           – Engr. Ade Adetimehin

29.  Osun                            – No Congress

30.  Oyo                             – Chief Akin Oke

31.  Plateau                        – Hon. Letep M. Dabang

32.  Rivers                          – Ojukaye Amachree

33.  Sokoto                         – Hon. Isa S. Achida

34.  Taraba                         – Alh. Abdulmumini Vaki

35.  Yobe                           – Alh. Adamu Chilariye

36.  Zamfara                       – Alh. Lawal M. Liman

37.  FCT                             – Hon. Abdulmalik Usman


Spread the news

Leave comment

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com