Nigerian Political News Media
Osun primary: 7 PDP aspirants withdraw for one candidate
Spread the news

Seven out of eleven governorship aspirants of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for Sept. 22 election on Saturday announced their withdrawal from the party’s primary.

The primary to be held in Osogbo has more than 3,000 delegates to participate in the exercise.

Those who announced their withdrawal from the primary are Mr Adejare Bello, former speaker of the State House of Assembly, Prof. Adeolu Durotoye, Jide Adeniji, Sen. Olasunkanmi Akinlabi, Mr Ayoade Adewopo, Mr Lere Oyewumi and Mr Felix Ogunwale.

The aspirants said that they stepped down from the race due to appeal from the party’s leadership and also to ensure cohesion within the party.

Other aspirants still in the race are Sen. Nurudeen Adeleke, representing Osun West at the Senate, Former Secretary to State Government Fatai Akinbade, Dr Akin Ogunbiyi and Mr Nathaniel Oke, a lawyer.

Addressing the delegates, Gov. Seriake Dickson, who is the chairman of the primary, assured them of a free, fair and credible exercise.

Dickson urged all the aspirants to support whosoever emerged as the winner of the primary.

Any aspirant who won the primary in PDP will contend with Mr Gboyega Oyetola, who emerged as the state governorship candidate on the platform of All Progressives Congress (APC).

Oyetola, who is Gov. Aregbesola’s Chief of Staff, scored 127,017 votes to clinch the party’s ticket.


Spread the news

Leave comment

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com